Imitate Me

Posted on January 24, 2012 by

4


I’ve been pondering our identity in Christ for a while now…and I’ve decided I’m just going to be bold and say what I truly believe to be true.

For even as the body is one and yet has many members, and all the members of the body, though they are many, are one body, so also is Christ.” 1 Corinthians 12:12 NASB

“Now you are Christ’s body, and individually members of it.” 1 Corinthians 12:27

“…as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior.” Ephesians 5:23

The New Testament references ‘Christ’ many times. I believe in every situation we can make the perfect case that the reference is inferring Jesus as the Christ.  However, for a few months now I believe the Lord has been showing me these references have been watered down today to the point where we see ‘Christ’ in the scriptures and we automatically put Jesus there, and put us below that standard. But, I don’t believe that is what the Lord is saying in His scriptures.  In just the few I’ve provided above I believe He is saying, ‘Jesus is the head of you, and the Body always follows what the Head directs, but it is the Body that does the work that the Head directs.’

I believe when we study the scriptures to learn about our Lord, we better begin to place ourselves within the term of ‘Christ.’  After all we are the Body…OF CHRIST.  Jesus is…THE HEAD of Christ.  Is it possible that Jesus never intended the term ‘Christ’ to refer only to Him?  My opinion is that the ‘Christ’ is not a term referring to one that deserves worship, but rather one that goes about doing the will of the Father.  Even Jesus turned all glory and adoration that He received to the Father.

Paul said, “Therefore I exhort you, be imitators of me.” 1 Corinthians 4:16  If a church leader said this today, most of the church would be ready to burn him at the stake for blasphemy, heresy, or something else ending in ‘y’ that the church has found worthy of death.

Paul clarified this statement later in the same book when he said, “Be imitators of me, just as I also am of Christ.” 1 Corinthians 11:1

We get nervous at the thought of telling someone to imitate us for good reason…we know what happened to Lucifer when he desired to be worshiped. It’s clear that is a ‘no-go’ in the Kingdom.  But, it is all about our heart.  And, our heart needs to understand that Jesus did not live the life He lived because He was God. He lived the life He lived because it is the way the Children of the Father are called to live…and we have the ability to live that way because Jesus set us free from sin.

Is it possible that the name of the Father’s Child is ‘the Christ’?  And our part in ‘the Christ’ is the same picture as a cell’s purpose in the creation of a muscle…the same way a muscle creates an organ…the same way organs create systems…the same way the systems unify to create a person.

“…as the Father has sent Me, I also send you.” John 20:21

It is time that I go into the world and live in a way that I can say, ‘Be imitators of me.’  That is what Jesus displayed for  me to do.

